Tuesday, July 5, 2016

Pupdate from,the Crate: Laughing rabbits and the Birds attack

Happy July 5 to all my friends!  What a weekend it was here!  This was my very first 4th of July and it was epic! Even without the baby bird fracas, it was pretty darn awesome!

So far, I'm not afraid of the big booms and bangs I heard here, I kinda just snoozed it away on the couch between mom and dad during our TV time, but what I DID DO this weekend was so cool!  I owe lots of my cool times to dad, because he keeps mom busier than usual - he is almost like a giant puppy mom says - because he is always getting into trouble too.

Mom seemed to notice that I am getting so big that she took a picture of me chill-laxin' on my favorite footstool, but I can't fit so good so mostly I need both footstools to chill on and lots of times I just fall off and make the best of it.

This weekend I spent time eating and finding cool stuff!  Dad was here the whole 4 days and when he is home there is a lot more kissing and a lot more food!  Dad is a great cook and I tasted a lot of his stuff because he also isn't a careful cooker like mom and he puts stuff out for me to taste whenever I want even if it makes mom crazy and she wants to put me in the crate, but dad said "no - honey - he is part of the family and you can't just put him in his crate when he gets into something or when we eat!  He will learn...."

So that is how I tasted the salad on the patio table and other yummy stuff this weekend!
While mom was busy with dad or something, I found stuff she hasn't seen in a long, long time!  Ya huh!  I brought out Bruno's best toy ever, a gooey, stiff Snoopy dog without ears and mom was so surprised!  She said "OH NO ARDIE!  That was up in the closet!  You can't have that!" I guess it is super special and I think it has magical powers because I can't even remember how I got it in the first place.  But, guys, in that same closet I found other stuff!

I found a laughing rabbit!  It is the BEST EVER and just like the laughing monkey that was here when I first came.  Mom thought she had thrown it out long ago, but I found it!  I LOVE the laughing rabbit because it is scary and fun at the same time.  Yep.  Just what puppies like!  It sits so still and quiet and then, just when I least expect it, it starts laughing and spinning all over the floor!  So I go into a fit of the yips and it makes me fly around the room and my legs get jumpy and I lose control and pounce on everything and then.....he goes silent.....he just waits....     Mom has a video but maybe can't load it up here.  She is trying.

And speaking of mom, she did ok this weekend with all the attention dad and I gave her.  First off, there was all that kissing and stuff and both dad and me always hanging on her, sitting right on her, and trying to breathe her same air which she seems to love for a while but then she starts pushing  me and dad away which is our super secret signal to each other to start wrestling and playing and mom says she should just let us hang on her cause that is quieter.

Anyway, she did so good, doing her embroidery stuff with colored strings and sharp things and then she had to water the plants on the patio and that started the fracas.  Once it started, she was done for.  Thankfully, it happened last night or who knows how it might have changed up the weekend.


So, you might know that mom hates birds.  She just freaks out and I hear her say she wants to launch them into outer space with a fly swatter when they come near, which I heard she did with a napkin once at a fancy outdoor restaurant in Columbus when she was eating on a patio and she really sent those little suckers flying until dad stopped her because other people at that place were getting upset......

Anyway, there are two bird nests on our front patio; one in the hanging flower pot and the other over the slider door edge.  Mom has been kind, leaving them alone except for watering the flowers there.  She has noticed little baby birds now peeking over the nests being fed by the moms and she gave them loud notice last week that they had ONE WEEK TO GROW UP AND MOVE ON before she was going to "take steps" to move them herself, but they didn't and in fact, I think they got an attitude about it.

Poor  mom was on the patio, minding her own business watering the plants away from the nests when the mommy birds freaked out and flew to a nearby tree chirping their lungs out which then freaked out the baby birds who just happened to figure out that maybe they could fly and go for their mommy birds, but they couldn't!  There were a ton of baby birds jumping out of the nests and trying to fly and landing on the ground all around my mom and she was jumping and yelling and the mommy birds were dive bombing her and the babies were thinking "hey cool we got wings and we can FLY!" and they bounced off the walls, the windows, ran under bushes and some even DID fly! 

I was laying in the living room, by the patio door watching all of this.  I could see some of them running around the ground and some trying to fly.  Everywhere mom went she spooked one of them and they shot out here and there. FYI  - Dad was watching TV and turned up the volume to hear his show....  So, finally, mom tossed the hose down and ran into the house.  I could hear her heart beating so fast, and she was swearing like a drunken sailor.

It took her all night to calm down, because now the birds were all messed up.  The tiny grey momma bird was in the big robin's nest with some of the babies who didn't fly, a cardinal somehow got into the mix and the momma robin was chasing baby birds all over the trees and bushes while the baby birds chirped their lungs out bouncing around up in the trees.  Mom said it was worse than trying to herd cats. 

After that, dad and I knew mom was SERIOUSLY freaked out so we just sat on the couch and got very quiet. The hose is still laying out there and mom keeps checking those nests from the office window and I think our out front plants are doomed.

Today started off pretty exciting too!  Dad went back to work and I started to find stuff to do while mom had her coffee.  I discovered I can get on my sister's bed now, and I brought out her little black bear from her pillows, but I guess it's special cause I can't have it.  So then, I went back and decided to look at mom's filing and business papers she keeps on that bed and I opened a package of papers and was just reading them when mom snuck up on me and told me NO ARDIE again already today....hmmmm....She needs to clean up that area today or else I think I'll do some filing for her.

I hope you all had the best 4th of July ever and maybe you can see my video on Facebook!

XOX  Ardie, the amazing discoverer of stuff nobody's seen in a long, long time









No comments:

Post a Comment